How To Survive Your First Cruise

There are many different types of vacations one can take. Taking a cruise for me was out of the question. My fear of water and inability to swim took major part in that. So you may ask yourself, “Why did I decide to go on a cruise?” The answer is simple, for the love of music.

How did music lead me to a cruise?

IMG_5311
Photo By: Nancy Alatorre

Now that’s an excellent question. Well, there is this awesome cruise called ParAhoy with my all time favorite band, Paramore! Imagine getting the opportunity to spend four days around your favorite band, surrounded by other amazing musicians heading to a magical island in Mexico also known as Cozumel! How could I say no? So I packed up my floaties (not literally) and I prepared to set sail.

Choosing the right cruise for you.

In the cruise industry there are many different types of cruises. Ex: Luxury, adventure, theme, family vacation and music. The first thing you want to decide when toying with the idea of taking a cruise is picking the right type of cruise for you. Things to look for are, length of the cruise and of course the destination. The last thing you want is to be stuck on a boat in the middle of the ocean regretting your decision. For me the choice was simple, music. I can’t imagine going on any other type of cruise.

IMG_5312
Photo By: Nancy Alatorre

So, what do I pack?

Being prepared for your cruise is probably the most important thing of all. I was a bit lost when it came to packing for my cruise. Luckily for me I had many coworkers that had been on cruises before. Here are a couple of things I suggest that helped me throughout my voyage.

  1. Travel Documents.
    • I kept having recurring dreams that I was going to forget my passport. That’s the last thing you need when you are about to board your ship. I would suggest keeping these documents close to you.
  2. Appropriate clothing.
    • Make sure you pack for your destination. Ex: Bathing suits;dressy clothes.
  3. Camera
    • Although we all like to live in the moment, we also like to have something to look back on and share our favorite memories. You can keep it simple. I used my iPhone to document my journey.
  4. And last but not least Poo~Pourri
    • Poo-per what? I know it sounds a bit odd at first but trust me, you’ll thank me later.

Get out of your comfort zone, have some FUN!

IMG_5499
Photo By: Nancy Alatorre

One of the great things about going to a place you’ve never been before are the unknown adventures that await you. Here is where I would suggest you be open to the unknown and trying new things. While in Cozumel I was planning on just taking a taxi to the beach and hanging out with all the other tourists. Instead I decided to get a little crazy and rent a Jeep. I started my journey touring the island, top down and wind in my face. In the middle of my trip I encountered a massive storm. I had to decide quick if I was going to take it on head first or turn around. I decided to pull over, put the top back on my Jeep and take it on. Some may say that might have not been the best idea, but in my experience it was amazing! Granted, probably not the safest thing to have done but it lead me to one of the best views.

IMG_5501
Photo By: Nancy Alatorre

One of the biggest take aways from this whole trip was the amazing people that I met. I feel that it’s important for people to be kind and be open to making new friends.

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 9.58.53 AM
Source

It’s amazing to me how music can unite people from all over the world. Everyone coming together in one place because of one common factor, the love of music. I hope to one day as a musician be able to unite people the same way. Now that I’ve told you a bit about my experience with my fist cruise, what artist would you love to see perform on a cruise? If you have gone a music cruise, share your experience below, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

